Edale Skyline Result

Race Date: Sunday 26th March 2017

The Don Morrison Memorial Edale Skyline race has been held since 1974. It is a race which is described as long and tough, with often challenging conditions. The 2017 running of the event featured a number of route changes to keep entrants on their toes, but luckily fine weather meant that conditions did not hamper their efforts.

293 runners started the race, however only 274  completed the course, with 19 retirees. First back to Edale and race HQ was Chris Steele of Borrowdale Fell Runners in a time of 2:47:45. First lady home was Team GB hopeful Sally Fawcett of Dark Peak Fell Runners in a time of 3:32:55.

Of the 13 Striders who entered the race, only 6 made it to the start line and only 5 finished the race. First over the line was Simon Bayliss, taking 66th place in a time of 3:48:37, and first lady Strider was Amy Duck in 147th place and a time of 4:13:24. Special mention to Thomas McCart, who was forced to retire from the race on Mam Nick, having already investing almost three hours of effort.

Pos Name Cat Time
66 Simon Bayliss M50 3:48:37
147 Amy Duck WSEN 4:13:24
185 Alison Barrett W40 4:26:14
195 Steve Haake M50 4:30:46
255 James Fletcher MSEN 5:05:09

Full results can be found here.

Simon Bayliss enjoying the fine weather during this year’s race (photograph courtesy of Mossie Net Photography – please have a look through the photos and if there’s any you like then consider making a donation)

scroll to top