Tigger Tor fell race 2020 results

Race date: Sun 26 January 2020

Tigger Tor (9.6 miles) is the traditional season curtain raiser for many local fellrunners and is also the first race in the annual Totley AC race series. For once, the race wasn’t part of the Striders fell championships, but it is part of the FRA’s 50 @ 50 celebrations. So if you ran it, and you’re an FRA member, you only have another 14 races to complete from the list to win a coverted commemorative garment…

The course takes runners from the start at Sheffield Tigers Rugby Club up across Sheephill Road and over the moor to Burbage Edge. From there runners descend into the valley before climbing up to Higger Tor on the opposite side. Dropping off Higger Tor everyone heads down towards Fox House before making  an about turn and heading back towards the checkpoint at the top of Carl Wark in the centre of the valley. From there it is a long run back to home via a detour to Houndkirk Hill. A steep road descent of Long Line takes competitors back to the finish at the rugby club.

Conditions this year were what most would consider ‘testing’. Underfoot was boggy with plenty of standing water in the Burbage valley and the wind gusted strongly, particularly around Higger Tor and Wynyards Nick. Those close to the front of the race avoided the worse of the rain, but the majority of the field got hit by at least one heavy rainshower.

Performance of the day came from first lady, Phillipa Williams (Sheffield RC), who finished 4th overall in 1:14:31. This was the day after finishing 6th at the Northern Cross Country Championships. First man and overall winner was Greg Hopkinson (unattached) in 1:11:44. There were 372 finishers and 2 DNFs, including Striders Alison Barrett who fell close to the finish and couldn’t complete the race. Get well soon Alison.

Striders results

21 Louis Wood M40 01:21:00
38 Paul Middlemas MSen 01:25:44
51 Chris Jones MSen 01:30:13
56 Nigel Barnes M40 01:31:36
60 Nick Kirk M50 01:32:10
69 Warren Brown M40 01:33:26
88 Joe Buckman MSen 01:36:05
95 Matt Rimmer M40 01:37:33
98 Dean Young M40 01:37:56
112 Stephen Clarke M40 01:39:54
122 Nick Burns M50 01:41:17
131 Rob Davies M50 01:41:54
133 Craig Baird M40 01:42:00
153 James Fletcher M40 01:44:47
163 (21) Gemma Wallace WSen 01:45:55
172 James Hogg MSen 01:47:06
174 Neal Pates M50 01:47:14
176 Mick Timm M50 01:47:40
182 John Rawlinson M50 01:48:23
214 Ben Heller M50 01:52:46
216 Nick Hails M40 01:52:57
221 Steve Haake M50 01:53:31
239 Simon Wiles M50 01:59:18
246 (47) Tracey Davies W40 02:00:08
247 Rob Betts M50 02:00:11
255 (49) Gillian Burgon WSen 02:01:24
256 Matthew Burgon M40 02:01:27
273 (57) Heather Wallis WSen 02:03:50
275 (59) Victoria Hawkins W50 02:04:12
279 (61) Laura Hogg WSen 02:04:46
288 Richard Taylor MSen 02:06:00
337 Jill Davies W60 02:15:26
345 Morven Lowe W40 02:17:35
Alison Barrett W40 DNF

Full results via Webscorer

scroll to top