The Cat Lane Canter 2024 Race Results

Race Date: Sunday 21st April 2024

Perhaps a little less well known than the London Marathon which took place on the same day, the Cat Lane Canter is a very local trail run taking place in the Cat Lane woods situated in S8.

This year the race formed part of our clubs trail championships so it was a popular choice. It offered runners the pick of a 5k (one loop) or 10k (two loops) muddy, undulating route. The latter for those choosing to compete in the championship this year.

In the days leading up to the race were concerns about how muddy it might be, with the organisers sending out an early notice advising that they would be guiding runners through the muddiest parts of the route to protect the surrounding woodland. Reports after the race suggest it actually wasn’t too bad afterall. And at least the sun was finally shining!

The 5k race was won by Denny Frazer in 23:21. The first female finisher was Sarah Gandee in 29:51.

The 10k race was won by Felix Watts of Dark Peak Fell Runners in 41:02. The first female over the line was Katie Walshaw of Holmfirth Harriers in 41:41.

Here are our Striders results:


Position Name Category Time Notes
22 Ann-Marie Mulvey F40 0:32:59 2nd F40
44 Tracey Gledhill F40 0:40:31
54 Nicole Nield F70 0:45:43 1st F70


Position Name Category Time Notes
7 Louis Wood M40 0:44:20 2nd M40
9 Michael Cockings M40 0:46:14
10 James Storey M50 0:46:52 1st M50
14 Darrel Porter M40 0:47:35
15 Russell Stevenson M50 0:47:36
16 Jed Turner M60 0:47:53 1st M60
23 Scott Hussey M40 0:50:27
24 Paddy Treehowes M50 0:50:31
28 Steve Gourlay M40 0:51:49
33 Martin Slack M50 0:53:26
37 Steve Blake M40 0:55:32
39 Andy Hinchliffe M60 0:55:44
42 David Bocking M60 0:56:13
46 Neal Pates M50 0:57:03
47 Ash Mellors M40 0:57:28
51 Cara Hanson F40 0:58:00
52 Will Winlow MSEN 0:58:29
56 Martin Downham M60 1:00:00
57 Charlotte Civico FSEN 1:00:14
60 Kevin Wong M40 1:00:48
61 Lucy Alderson FSEN 1:00:52
65 Sharon Colyer FSEN 1:02:16
67 Karen Clark F60 1:02:24 1st F60
73 Kevin Haighton M60 1:04:21
78 Jo Gleig F60 1:05:23
83 David Parry M70 1:07:38 1st M70
92 Emily Jones FSEN 1:10:26

Well done to each of you!

Full results can be viewed here.

scroll to top