Road Championship 2023

Our 2023 Road Championship calendar included 12 races, with participants needing to run a minimum of 5:

  1. Dewsbury 10k (5/2)
  2. Wombwell 5 (19/2)
  3. Dronfield 10k (12/3)
  4. Sheffield Half Marathon (26/3)
  5. Eyam Half Marathon (14/5)
  6. Lindley 10k (25/6)
  7. Loxley Lash (5/7)
  8. Newark Half Marathon (13/8)
  9. Big Dipper Half Marathon (10/9)
  10. Sheffield 10k (24/9)
  11. Holmfirth 10k (15/10)
  12. Bolsover 10k (10/12)

For each race, runners scored points based on how their time compared to the time of the first-placed runner of the same sex: 100 points x (winning time / your time). So for example, if the winner took 60 minutes and you took 75, you’d have scored 100 x (60 / 75) = 80 points. A slower runner who took 80 minutes would have scored 100 x (60 / 80) = 75 points.

Additionally, for the first time, any road marathon that appeared on Power of 10 before the final race could also count as one of an athlete’s 5 races. For marathons, the reference time for points calculations was the fastest time run by a Strider during the championship. For men, this was Rob Byers’ 2:30:04; for women, it was Simone Young-Alls’ 3:10:56.

A runner’s total score for the championship was their best five race scores added together. Runners needed to complete at least 5 races to be eligible for prizes.

For full results, see The Spreadsheet. For a list of our club champions, see below.


Category Champion Runner-Up
MSen Seth Kirby John Egginton
FSen Emily Green Laura Mella
M40-49 Darren Barnett Michael Richardson
F40-49 Sarah Allcard Jacqui Herring
M50-59 Robert Dawson Wei Chen
F50-59 Karen Clark Catherine McKeown
M60-69 Andy Hinchliffe Peter Brown
F60-69 Kate Waddicor Stephanie Street

We also had a whole club, age-graded competition. For this, we used the World Masters Athletics methodology to award scores by comparing runners’ times with the world record for their age and sex. This allows all runners, younger and older, male and female, to compete on a fair basis. Our Age-Graded Champion for 2023 was F65 Kate Waddicor.